

# Victorian Local Governance Association Annual General Meeting 2023 16 November 2023

# **Draft Minutes**

Meeting held virtually via Zoom link The meeting commenced at: 4.30 pm

1. Attendance, Apologies & Proxies		
Introduction and Apologies	Chair:	
	VLGA President, Cr Denise Massoud, Whitehorse City Council	
	VLGA Board Members:	
	Louise Hill, Independent Board Member	
	Andrew Sloman, Treasurer & Independent Board Member	
	Cr Susanne Newton, City of Darebin	
	Cr Grace LaVella, Central Goldfields Shire Council	
	Cr Josh Fergus, VLGA Vice-President, Monash City Council	
	Cr Steve Holland, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council	
	Mike Blake, Independent Board Member	
	Cr Annalivia Carli Hannan, Merri-bek City Council	
	Leanne Mulcahy, VLGA Governance and Risk Committee Independent Member	
	Rita Harris, VLGA Governance and Risk Committee Independent Member	
	Manches Councillos successivis 70 cm (aulius).	
	Member Councillors present via Zoom (online):	
	Cr Tammy Radford, Cardinia Shire Council	
	Cr Antonella Celi, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council	
	Cr Susan Laukens, Knox City Council	
	Cr Janet Pearce, Macedon Ranges Shire Council	
	Cr Frances Eyre, Nillumbik Shire Council	
	Cr Bruce Lancashire, Brimbank City Council	
	Cr Victoria Borg, Brimbank City Council	
	Cr Virginia Tachos, Brimbank City Council	
	Cr Jane Orden, Cannawarra Shire Council	
	Cr Jane Ogden, Gannawarra Shire Council	
	Cr Thomas O'Reilly, Brimbank City Council	
	Cr Gavin Gamble, Golden Plains Shire Council	



Cr Sue Pennicuik, Glen Eira City Council

Cr Michelle Kleinert OAM, Manningham City Council

Cr Clare Williams, South Gippsland Shire Council

Cr Kate Roper, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

Cr Tom Melican, Banyule City Council

Cr Despi O'Connor, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

Mr. Phil De Losa, Yarra City Council

Cr Ian Ross, Horsham Rural City Council

Cr Anna De Villiers, Central Goldfields Shire Council

Cr Trevor Gready, Northern Grampians Shire Council

Cr David Bowe, Horsham Rural City Council

Cr Rhonda Sanderson, Mitchell Shire Council

#### **Patron Member**

Hayden Raysmith AM

#### **Life Members**

Terry Larkins OAM PSM

## Others/observers:

Alex Allan, Stannards

Sarah Rey, Justitia

Chris Eddy

Keiran Craig-Jones

Nicole Findlay, Reconciliation Victoria

Mike Gooey, Local Government Victoria

#### **Guest Speaker**

Sven Bluemmel, Electoral Commissioner, Victorian Electoral Commission

#### VLGA Staff:

Kathryn Arndt, CEO

Natalie Walker

Simon Harrex

Jackie King

Heather Falkiner (Minutes)

## **Apologies**

Cr Mark Riley, Merri-bek City Council

Cr Brett Cunningham, Golden Plains Shire Council



		Michael Stefanovic AM, Local Government Inspectorate
		•
		Glenyys Romanes AM, Life Member
		Cr Anne-Marie Cade, Glen Eira City Council
2.	Minutes of the previous	Motion: That the Minutes of the 17 November 2022 Annual General
	meeting	Meeting be accepted.
	J	
		Moved: Louise Hill, VLGA Independent Board Member
		Seconded: Cr Gavin Gamble, Golden Plains Shire Council
		Carried via a virtual poll on Zoom.
3.	President's Report – Cr	The VLGA President spoke to her report for the 2022/23 year.
	Denise Massoud	
		Motion: That the President's Report is received.
		·
		Moved: Cr David Bowe, Horsham Rural City Council
		Seconded: Cr Kate Roper, Mornington Shire Council
		Carried via a virtual poll on Zoom
4.	Receipt of Audited 2022-	The VLGA Treasurer spoke to his report for the 2022/23 financial year.
	23 Financial Statements	
	(incorporating	Motion: That the Audited 2022-2023 Financial Statements (incorporating
	Treasurer's Report) –	Treasurer's Report) be received.
	Andrew Sloman	
		Moved: Cr Ian Ross, Horsham Rural City Council
		Seconded: Louise Hill, VLGA Independent Board Member
		· ·
		Carried via a virtual poll on Zoom.
5.	Confirmation of	Motion: That Stannards Accountants and Advisors Pty Ltd be confirmed
	<b>Auditors for 2023-2024</b>	as auditors for the 2023/24 financial year.
	financial year	
		Moved: Andrew Sloman, VLGA Treasurer
		Seconded: Cr Steve Holland, VLGA Board Member
L		Carried via a virtual poll on Zoom.
6.	CEO's Report – Kathryn	The Chief Executive Officer spoke to her report for the 2022/23 year.
	Arndt	



	That the Chief Executive Officer's Report and Annual Report for the 2022/2023 year be received.
	Moved: Cr Grace LaVella, Central Goldfields Shire Council Seconded: Cr Gavin Gamble, Golden Plains Shire Council
	The motion is <b>Carried</b> via a virtual poll on Zoom.
7. Other Business	A video of the 2022/23 year in review was played.
Close of AGM – 5.08 pm	